skip to Main Content

Welcome to the Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown!

For headlines and engaging stories, please visit the Proclaim! E-News Site:

To explore our faith and learn about our diocese, continue on this site, or click here:

2021 Synod - For A Synodal Church
The Church of God is convoked in Synod. Beginning with this convocation in October 2021, Pope Francis invites the entire Church to reflect on a theme that is decisive for its life and mission.
Official Website
To Proclaim and Teach
In looking to ensure the continuing success of our schools, the diocese – in collaboration with the Office of Education – is initiating “To PROCLAIM and TEACH,” a strategic growth planning process that will focus on Catholic school vitality and sustainability.
Read More

What We Believe

Sacraments and the Mass

Prayers and Daily Readings

Proclaim! Magazine

Proclaim! E-News

Joy To The World
Proclaim! TV will present the television special "Joy to the World – Christmas in the Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown" on Sunday, December 19 at 5:00 p.m. on WATM ABC 23.
Read More
Turn To Saint Joseph
The Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown has joined the universal Church in closing out the Year of Saint Joseph on December 8.
Read More
Opening Doors
The beautiful new doors at the Basilica of Saint Michael the Archangel in Loretto are a reminder of the remarkable impact of Catholic education and a special bond between a teacher and her student.
Read More
A Deeper Encounter
As J.J. Steinbugl gets ready to celebrate the Sacrament of Confirmation in just a matter of months, a healthy relationship with the Lord is more important than ever.
Read More
Bambinelli Blessing
Pope Saint John Paul II started the custom decades ago when he encouraged children in Rome to bring the baby Jesus – in Italian, Bambinelli – from their Nativity to Saint Peter’s Square for a blessing.
Read More
Echoes of a Polish Christmas
All Saints Parish in Boswell will host the annual singing of Polish Christmas Carols (known as Kolędy) on Sunday January 2, 2022, at 2:00 PM
Read More

Diocesan Ministries

Back To Top